Fabric Mosaic Art

Empress Theodora youtube video

Empress Theodora

fabric mosaic

video

After considerable thought I finally settled on a design to provide a finished border for my fabric mosaic of Theodora.  It seemed fitting that Theodora, a symbol of the power and glory of western civilization , should be framed within the softly scalloped edges of eastern arches.  This is meant to point to the exotic and complex blend of western and eastern influences which shaped the Byzantine Empire.

For a close-up view of the work, you can view Theodora on RemnantWorksYoutube.

9 responses

  1. chicoJ

    WOW

    August 26, 2012 at 4:21 am

    • Thanks! 🙂

      August 26, 2012 at 4:48 am

  2. Mary Ann

    Kerri, I do like the border you have choosen and the Video.

    August 26, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    • Thank you, Mary Ann!

      August 27, 2012 at 12:01 am

  3. mac

    Great work! I thought it was from Ravenna at first 🙂

    August 27, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    • Thank you, I take that as high praise.
      Thanks for visiting my blog… you published the most beautiful photos on your site.

      August 27, 2012 at 6:22 pm

      • mac

        Thank you! And I think you got the color thing just right in this work – the right “palette” sort of. Well done!

        August 27, 2012 at 8:10 pm

  4. Yes, color can be very challenging. I am limited to the fabrics I can find. It’s not like paint that you can mix and blend until you get the desired shade. I have to work with what’s available in my local market. Thank goodness I live in a place with lots of fabric resources.

    August 27, 2012 at 8:33 pm

  5. I read this piece of writing completely about the comparison of newest and preceding technologies, it’s awesome article.

    November 9, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Leave a Reply

